WHATCHA GONNA BE?

Success is a limitless creation, man sometimes believe to be a limited joy. 

What is your ambition, kiddo?

When I was a ‘kiddo’, I sometimes found this question pretty boring but at the same time, very amusing. It was too common a question but at the same time a chance for my innovative little mind to create something new. In other words, it was different every time.

When I got into my teenage years, it started to form roots. Which practically means that it had to bear fruit and a unique one at that. After all, I had never seen a tree with two kinds of fruit. So I started to look around. Most of my peers wanted to be an engineer or a doctor. It was a pretty net made by a spider controlled by trend and time. But I wanted to break through. It did not take me much time to realise I was a bit different. I was more interested in ‘why’ than ‘when and where’. I loved to write, draw, make music, think, design, create and the list went on and on. Creativity was a passion. Pictures started to form on the corners of my science textbooks. But I loved science. But I did not want the subject to be taught to me. I wanted to explore science myself. That way it would be an adventure.

I found out that I loved to study English, Philosophy, Psychology and stuff like that. I decided that it would be what I would study when I make it to college. Many of my friends and family still say that I may get a better future if I pursue science. But my answer is still no. Why?

That’s what this post is all about. . . .

Malcolm Gladwell says in one of his books,

“It is better to be a big fish in a small pond than to be a small fish in big pond.”

I’ve known this since I was a kid.

If there is one thing that I value about our world today, it is the fact that it still values uniqueness.

You can only be unique when you accept the uniqueness in you. If you let what the world around you decide what you want to be, then you are not being you, you are being the world around you. If you are doing what you do best, then you always have a better shot at being the big fish in the small pond and as in some cases the only fish in the pond. Your skill will be unparalleled because it will be unique.

I would like to quote from one of my earlier posts:

” The world can only be at it’s best when it’s people are at their best. And the people can only be their best when they do what they do best.”

So what are you waiting for? Make a decision to build your talents and help them shine. It is much more effortless than doing something you have to build up from the bottom. When you are being you and when you build up your talents, you realise you are already half way up the ladder.

The next part of this post is about how you should dream your dreams.

What do you want to be when you get old?

I want to be a guitarist.

Sorry, wrong answer.

Want to know the right answer? Here goes. . .

I want to be the best guitarist I can ever be.

That is when you realise that success is a limitless creation, man sometimes believe to be a limited joy.

Third and most important part of this post.

What do you want to be when you grow old?

I don’t know.

I know that many believe this to be a very dangerous position in life, which is in some cases true. But I believe that it may be a very good indication too.

Why?

Because in some cases it may also mean that that person has not yet let others and the environment around him make decisions for him. He is somewhere in the middle. Confused.

What should you do?

The best answer I can give you as a Christian is :

Pray about it. God made you to be who you are. He gave those talents to you for a reason. God made everyone different for a reason. Ask him to show you what you should do. 

So, take the right decisions. Be a blessing to the world. God made you to be you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

