Blocks Of Ice.

Realise that life is not race. It’s not a walk either. It’s a step every step of the way.

If you were to ask me to give you a pictorial representation for life, this would be my answer to you. . .

‘Life is like a road made of blocks of ice, where the ice block behind you melts away and the one before you is invisible.’

Close your eyes right now and imagine what I just said.

The block of ice you just passed melts away slowly. It is impossible to retrieve and it slowly fades away, like memory of a time passed slowly melts away from the human brain. It is a gradual process.

Fantastic. Right?

The human brain is so amazing.

The block you are standing on is also made of ice. You can’t stand there forever. This picture helped me to define a true hard worker. A person who waits for the ice on which they stand on to melt until they can no longer stand on it. They try to make the most out of it every time. This is not based on time. But the way we feel time passing by us.

I’d like to think of myself as two people.

What???

That’s right. In regard to how I do my work.

There’s a me that can do the work in a few hours and there’s a me that can do it in a few minutes. The question is who I want to be when I am on that block of ice.

I am I just going to stand there looking out into the future that I can’t even see or am I going to use my time to the best I can.

The block of ice before you is invisible.

In the Bible there is a part where the Israeli people had to cross the Jordan river. The priests holding the ark of God had to step into the water to part the waters. They had to step into the water. They had to get their feet wet. In fact I see that as a leap of faith, believing God will be with them in what was about to come.

Life is also like that. You just move on, trying to make the best move you can every time.

We are all people moving on blocks of ice, alone. Are we?

In my case, I’m a Christian and in many ways in my life I’ve seen how I am never alone. We all have to trust God to help us make the right decisions because he has seen the whole picture.

So move on. Realise that life is not race. It’s not a walk either. It’s a step every step of the way.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

