Silent Music

Have you ever felt yourself humming to a tune while doing something? Well, I believe something about the pace at which you were working triggered a rhythm already recorded in your brain. It’s possible.

I can’t imagine a world without music. I can’t even imagine seeing a movie with no background music. Why? Because it is what gives the essence to many of the things we see around us. Sometimes I think about how all those things would have been without the music. It would be like sitting in a café and drinking coffee while everything around you was stuck in mundane atmosphere of a black and white picture. Well that was a bit over the top, even for me. Lets just say it would be like a rock band without their drummer.

I sat and thought about such a situation for a long time and that’s when the thought of a silent music came to me. Well, before I explain, I would like to give you a picture of what I am talking about.

Imagine you wake up everyday to the sound of one of those really old gigantic alarm clocks. You go the bathroom and you put the shower on and hear the crisp familiar sound of water. You go downstairs and you hear the sound of the toaster.

Now imagine all these sounds put into an arrangement with a nice good rhythm. Well, there you go. You technically just made your own music. Every sound you hear and just let go everyday is a musical note. Fantastic isn’t it?

Now here’s what is really interesting. Imagine they were not sounds at all.

Look at a pendulum or a kid on a swing at your local playground. They swing at a constant speed and though not completely, reach back to the point from where they began. In other words they have put into action a silent rhythm in their brain and in the brains around them watching.

Well, that is really weird.

But it’s true. Have you ever felt yourself humming to a tune while doing something? Well, I believe something about the pace at which you were working triggered a rhythm already recorded in your brain. It’s possible. I myself used to try this to give my work a rhythm. I just reversed the concept. When I had to finish up notes I missed at school, I would put a really good song with a great rhythm and give my writing a pace. This really worked for me because I used to get lost in my own thoughts every time I wrote about three sentences.

There is another form of silent music. If you are a trained musician, which unfortunately I am not, when you look at a music sheet, at least some of you will hear the music being played in your head. I strongly believe in this because Beethoven himself wrote his best compositions after he became almost deaf. He knew how those would sound like when he transferred it from the paper to the keys beneath his fingers.

Even if you can’t hear music and even if you are not a trained musician you can still enjoy it. It’s everywhere around you. Hidden. It’s different. That’s all. It’s just as enjoyable as real music because the curiosity you feel when you look for it, already makes it an enjoyable and unique experience. For those of us who really can hear, looking for the silent music around us is a great way to widen our perspective and bring into our music the enjoyable and hidden part which, I believe is in itself a part of the human being.

You’ve been a part of this hidden music for a long time. The same heart beat a baby hears in its mothers womb, sends it to sleep in its mother’s arms . Silent music is all around us. We just need to stop and listen to it.

Leave a Reply

